The newly appointed Executive Chairman of Policy Research Institute, Prof. Dr. Lekhnath Sharma, took up office today

May 29, 2024

May 29, 2024

Policy Research Institute, Narayanhiti

Prof. Dr. Lekhnath Sharma, the newly appointed Executive Chairperson of the Policy Research Institute, has taken up office today. Professor Sharma was appointed as the Executive Chairperson of the Policy Research Institute by the decision of the Nepal Government Council of Ministers on May 16, 2024. Today at the institute, the Office Manager of the Institute, Mr. Laxman Prasad Bhattarai, welcomed Professor Sharma to the office of the Executive Chairperson, and Professor Sharma signed the attendance register and also made a decision to form a task committee to revise the Policy Research Institute Employee Performance Evaluation Procedure as his first executive decision. After this, in a short ceremony held at the seminar hall of the institute, all the institute employees introduced themselves and warmly welcomed the newly appointed Executive Chairperson.

Professor Sharma has joined the Policy Research Institute as the fourth Executive Chairman. The previous Executive Chairperson, Dr. Bishnu Raj Upreti’s tenure ended on March 4, 2023, and the post has been vacant since then.

Graduated in Mathematics Education from Tribhuvan University, Professor Sharma has 38 years of experience in teaching, research, and various leadership positions, including the founding Vice Chancellor of Nepal Open University. Before taking up the post at the Policy Research Institute, Prof. Dr. Sharma was the Director of the Tribhuvan University Open and Distance Education Center.