Policy Dialogue on National Human Resource Development Policy, 2080 (Draft)

November 10, 2023

November 06, 2023

Policy Research Institute – a Nepal Government Think Tank, has organized a program titled “Policy Dialogue on National Human Resource Development Policy, 2080 (Draft)”. The purpose of the program was to collect feedback on the policy draft formulated by the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology.

The institute provides feedback to the policy document based on the conclusions synthesized by internal review including relevant research literature review, external expert review as well as stakeholder consultations. Experts, scholars, and senior bureaucrats from different fields of human resource development participated in the policy dialogue.

The draft policy consists of ten policies, twenty-five strategies, and one hundred and one work plans to achieve the goal of developing specialized and professionally competitive, technology-savvy, employable, and productive human capital and the objectives related to manpower projection, national standards, human resource development, legal and institutional basis, and research. The participants presented oral and written suggestions on various topics including the broad definition of human resources, new skills, demand-based production, consumption, retention in terms of immigration, foreign labor contracts, income-friendly education acquisition framework for students, and so on for improving the policy draft.


  • Anil Keshari Shah, Thematic Expert
  • Arjun Bahadur Shrestha, Under Secretary, Ministry of Education, Science and Technology
  • Dr. Krishna Timsina, Head, Agriculture Policy Center, Nepal Agricultural Research Center
  • Dr. Pradeep Gyawali, Executive Chief, Nepal Health Research Council
  • Dr. Ramesh Chandra Paudel, Member, National Planning Commission
  • Hari Prasad Adhikari, Under Secretary, Ministry of Youth and Sports
  • Hariprasad Niraula, Under Secretary, Ministry of Education, Science and Technology
  • Indira Aryal, Under Secretary, Ministry of Women, Children and Senior Citizens
  • Ishwar Bajracharya, Senior Technical Officer, Nepal Institute of Science and Technology
  • Kamala Ghimire, Under Secretary, Ministry of Industries, Commerce and Supplies
  • Kanchan Neupane, Correspondent, Nepalwatch
  • Kanunlal Chaudhary, Executive Director, Local Development Training Academy
  • Keshavraj Subedi, Under Secretary, Ministry of Communications and Information Technology
  • Khagendra Prasad Adhikari, Vice President, Council For Technical Education and Vocational Training
  • Mahesh Dahal, Former Ambassador of Nepal to Australia
  • Maheshwari Bista Rawal, Former Head, Women Development Officer, Lalitpur Metropolitan City
  • Prayasha KC, Director of Skills, Confederation of Nepalese Industry (CNI)
  • Prof. Dr. Anjani Kumar Jha, Vice Chairman, Medical Education Commission
  • Prof. Dr. Devraj Adhikari, Chairman, University Grants Commission
  • Prof. Dr. Dinesh Kumar Lamsal, Head of Department, Civil Servants Hospital
  • Prof. Dr. Lochana Shrestha, Chief, Department of Community Medicine, Nepal Army Institute of Health Sciences
  • Prof. Dr. Sharad Onta, Senior Thematic Expert, Center for Legal and Social Affairs Policy Studies, PRI
  • Prof. Dr. Shilu Manandhar Bajracharya, Vice Chancellor, Nepal Open University
  • Prof. Dr. Shivlal Bhusal, Vice Chancellor, Tribhuvan University
  • Prof. Durga Khadka Mishra, Dean, Madan Bhandari Academy of Health Sciences
  • Raj Kumar Acharya, Central Member, National Federation of Youth NGOs
  • Raju Shrestha, Under Secretary, Ministry of Education, Science and Technology
  • Rita Khatiwada, Section Officer, Ministry of Social Development, Koshi Province
  • Rosni Tuitui, Former Director, Nursing and Social Security Division, Department of Health Services
  • Sagun Poudel, Thematic Expert
  • Saroj Baniyan, Central President, Nepal Youth Council
  • Shaligram Bhandari, C.D.E., Ministry of Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation
  • Sharad Raj Aran, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  • Subhash Koirala, Executive Director, Nepal Management Association
  • Thamlal Bhattarai, Section Officer, Ministry of Finance
  • Thaneshwar Gautam, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs
  • Yagya Puri, Under Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers