Interaction among university leaders on the occasion of the launching of the academic program at Madan Bhandari University of Science and Technology

December 6, 2023

December 6, 2023

Policy Research Institute hosted a program organized by Madan Bhandari University of Science and Technology (MBUST) to brief on its vision, current status, and the beginning of the academic program with the enrolment of the first batch of Masters and PhD students. The program was attended by the members of the Board of Trustees (BOT) of the MBUST, former and incumbent Vice Chancellors of Nepal’s universities, and Research Fellows of the Policy Research Institute. At the program, the president of the MBUST, Prof. Dr. Rajendra Dhoj Joshi, made a presentation, which was followed by interaction among the attending academics. Participants shared their views on what it means to strive to be a world-class university, the challenges faced by the universities with traditional governance in Nepal, and how the success of the MBUST will inspire the reform of universities of Nepal.


Prof. DR. Rajendra Dhoj Joshi (President, MBUST)

Prof. Dr. Padma Sundar Joshi (Vice-president, MBUST)

Mr. Padma Jyoti (Chairperson of BOT, MBUST)

Prof. Dr. Suzanne Fortier (Member of BOT, MBUST; McGill University))

Prof. Dr. Seeram Ramkrishna (Member of BOT, MBUST; National University of Singapore)

Prof. Dr. Sanjaya Nath Khanal (Academic Advisor, MBUST)

Prof. Dr. Suresh Raj Sharma (Former VC, Kathmandu University)

Prof Dr. Punya Prasad Regmi (VC, Agriculture and Forestry University)

Prof Dr Nanda Bahadur Singh (VC, Far Western University)

Dr. Arjun Karki (Chairperson, University of Nepal Development Board)

Dr. Kailash Timalsina (Registrar, Gandaki University)

Prof. Dr. Ananda Sharma (Committee member, University of Nepal Development Board)

Mr. Laxman Prasad Bhattarai (PRI)

Dr. Mukti Rijal (PRI)

Dr. Kalpana Khanal (PRI)

Dr. Deepak Kumar Khadka (PRI)

Dr. Bhogendra Mishra (PRI)

Mr. Ashok Pandey (PRI)

Mr. Rajendra Senchurey (PRI)