A Policy Dialogue on the Future Course of Action of the BIMSTEC is organized.

December 29, 2023

29 December 2023
The Policy Research Institute (PRI) organized a Public Policy Dialogue on the Future Course of Action of the BIMSTEC. The objective of the Dialogue was to provide inputs to the Nepal’s nominee to the BIMSTEC Eminent Persons’ Group (EPG) on how to make BIMSTEC a more active, effective and efficient regional organization.
BIMSTEC has constituted the EPG to suggest measures for its future direction keeping in view the Bangkok Declaration, BIMSTEC Charter, Bangkok Vision 2030, BIMSTEC’s activities and its structure. The Government of Nepal has nominated Mr. Durga Prasad Bhattarai, former Foreign Secretary, Nepal’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations, New York and Nepal’s Ambassador to Sri Lanka as one of the EPG members.
Hon. Minister for Foreign Affairs, Mr. N. P. Saud, also attended the Public Policy Dialogue, and delivered his opening remarks. The Hon. Minister highlighted the importance and relevance of BIMSTEC in the socio-economic development of the member states and the importance of discussions and research in such endeavours. He also thanked the PRI for organizing the Dialogue on such a relevant issue.
The participants included government representatives from BIMSTEC focal points, area experts, former and serving diplomats, academia and representatives from the private sector organisations. The participants provided inputs based on sectoral agenda and issues of BIMSTEC and made suggestions on how Nepal can contribute and benefit as a member country.
The Dialogue was organized at the request from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.


Hon’ble Mr. N.P. Saud (Minister, Ministry of Foreign Affairs)
Mr. Madhu Raman Acharya (Former Secretary/Former Ambassador)
Mr. Durga Prasad Bhattarai (Former Secretary/Former Ambassador)
Mr. Deepak Dhital (Former Ambassador)
Mr. Dinesh Kumar Ghimire (Former Secretary)
Mr. Purushottam Ojha (Former Secretary)
Mr. Bharat Raj Paudyal (Former Secretary)
Mr. Keshav Acharya (Economic Adviser, Ministry of Finance)
Mr. Ravi Shankar Sanju (Former Joint Secretary)
Mr. Dhan Bahadur Oli (Joint Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs)
Ms. Rita Dhital (Joint Secretary, Ministry of External Affairs)
Mr. Bhimarjun Adhikari (Joint Secretary, Ministry of Physical Infrastructure and Transport)
Mr. Skim Shrestha (Joint Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs)
Dr. Rajendra Prasad Mishra (Joint Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture and Livestock Development)
Mr. Krishna Prasad Sapkota (Joint Secretary, Ministry of Land Management, Cooperatives and Poverty Alleviation)
Ms. Bandana K.C. (Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs)
Mr. Saroj Kumar Pokharel (Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation)
Mr. Mukti Ram Acharya (Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Finance)
Ms. Sabitra Oli (Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs)
Dr. Chakra Pani Acharya (Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Industries, Commerce and Supplies)
Mr. Gauri Shankar Pandey (Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Education, Science and Technology)
Mr. Bishwas Bhatt (Section Officer, Ministry of External Affairs)
Mr. Raju Maharjan (CDE, Ministry of Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation)
Mr. Gokarna Raj Awasthi (Director General, Federation of Nepal Chamber of Commerce and Industry)
Dr. Paras Kharel (Executive Director, SAWTEE)
Dr. Rudra Suwal (Former Deputy Director General)
Prof. Dr. Arjun Kumar Baral (Executive Director, Center for Economic Development and Administration)
Dr. Nischal Nath Pandey (Director, CSAS)
Mr. Manjit Dhakal (Director, Climate Analytics)
Mr. Birendra Bahadur Budha (Acting Director, Nepal Rashtra Bank)
Mr. Rajendra Singh (Deputy Director, Trade and Export Promotion Centre)
Mr. Bishow Parajuli (Former Country Representative of UNDP and FAO)
Prof. Dilli Raj Upreti (Member, IPRAD)

Policy Research Institute
Dr. Pushpa Raj Rajkarnikar (Board Member)
Dr. Shyamu Thapa Magar (Board Member)
Dr. Indra Adhikari (Board Member)
Mr. Laxman Prasad Bhattarai
Dr. Mukti Ram Rijal
Dr. Khaga Nath Adhikari
Dr. Hari Sharma Neupane
Dr. Deepak Kumar Khadka
Dr. Kalpana Khanal
Dr. Jham Kumar Bishwakarma
Mr. Rajendra Senchurey