A policy dialogue on the culture of knowledge transfer in public institutions of Nepal concluded

June 19, 2024

June 19, 2024

Policy Research Institute

How is the culture of exchange and transfer of knowledge, skills, ideas and experiences among employees in public institutions in Nepal? What are the regulations and structures that dictate it? How do employees evaluate their own and others’ contributions to knowledge transfer? What are the factors that motivate and discourage knowledge transfer? How is the benefit of knowledge transfer understood? What policy reforms are needed to establish a good culture of knowledge transfer among employees? A public policy dialogue was organised to seek expert opinion and feedback in connection with a study being conducted by the Policy Research Institute, which included an Employee Knowledge Transfer Survey, to find answers to these questions.

The dialogue was attended by 25 experts, including high-ranking government officials, academics and various professionals. The Executive Chairman of the Institute, Prof Dr. Lekhnath Sharma, welcome the participants. Dr Manita Kusi, who is leading the research, gave a presentation with an introduction to the research and some preliminary results obtained from the employee survey.

After the presentation, the participants took part in the discussion. Participants in the discussion shared theoretical and empirical opinions and suggestions on the concepts and practices of knowledge management in public institutions; problems in acquiring, collecting and transferring knowledge; and the current practices of knowledge transfer and distribution and the structures, resources and policy tools that strengthen it. Dr Deepak Kumar Khadka, a senior research fellow and study supervisor at the institute, moderated the discussion.

Concluding the dialogue, the Executive Chairman of the Institute appreciated the dignified attendance and thoughtful views of the distinguished participants and expressed the belief that these ideas provided an emerging intellectual framework for analysing the data obtained in the study. He added that with a deep understanding of the diversity of knowledge, this study will create good policy recommendations to promote knowledge transfer in public institutions.


Invited guests:

Basanta Prasad Koirala (Deputy Director, Center for Education and Human Resource Development)
Bimala Bhusal (Section Officer; Ministry of Industry, Commerce and Supplies)
Chandra Kala Paudel (Spokesperson/ Joint Secretary; Ministry of Women, Children and Senior Citizens)
Damodar Wagle (Under-secretary, Ministry of Land Management, Cooperatives and Poverty Alleviation)
Dasharath Mishra (Head, Nepal National Library)
Dr Arjun Kumar Shrestha (Associate Professor, Kathmandu University School of Management)
Dr Meena Adhikari (Researcher, Nirvana College)
Dr Prakash Budhathoki (Spokesperson/ Joint Secretary, Ministry of Health and Population)
Gopi Nath Mainali (Former Secretary, Government of Nepal)
Harihar Paudel (Director, Department of Customs)
Keshab Prasad Dahal (Spokesperson/ Joint Secretary, Ministry of Education, Science and Technology)
Manoj Kumar Acharya (Spokesperson/ Joint Secretary, Ministry of Defence)
Nishnu Thing (Researcher, National Foundation for Development of Indigenous Nationalities)
Pradhumna Raj Pandey (SAE, Ministry of Agriculture and Livestock Development)
Prof Dr Mahananda Chalise (Professor, School of Management, Tribhuvan University)
Punya Maya Guragain (Registrar, Nepal Copyright Registrar’s Office)
Ram Babu Nepal (Caretaker Chair, Ex-Employees Service Council Nepal)
Ram Gopal Lageju (C.D.E.; Ministry of Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation)
Rama Bhattarai (Under-secretary, Ministry of Youth and Sports)
Ravi Shankar Sainju (Former Joint Secretary, Ministry of Industry, Commerce and Supplies)
Sharada Gyawali (Section Officer, National Planning Commission)
Srijana Dhital (Knowledge Management Expert)
Sthan Kirat Rai (Deputy Director of Studies, Nepal Administrative Staff College)
Tulraj Sunuwar (Under-secretary, Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers)

Policy Research Institute:

Prof Dr Lekhnath Sharma (Executive Chairperson)
Dr Deepak Kumar Khadka (Senior Research Fellow)
Dr Mukti Ram Rijal (Senior Research Fellow)
Dr Khaga Nath Adhikari (Senior Research Fellow)
Dr Manita Kusi (Associate Research Fellow)
Rija Manandhar (Analyst)
Bimal Chandra Sharma (Library Management Coordinator)
Demij Maharjan (Intern)
Jenish Maharjan (Intern)
Jyoti Luintel (Intern)
Rakshya Aryal (Consultant)
Soniya Basyal (Intern)

Please click here for photographs of the programme.