Policy Lecture on “Nepal’s Economic and Social Policies and Complementation with Asta-Ja” by Prof. Dr. Durga D. Poudel

January 19, 2024

January 19, 2024

The Policy Research Institute organized a policy lecture on “Nepal’s Economic and Social Policies and Complementation with Asta-Ja”. The lecture was delivered. by Prof. Dr. Durga D. Poudel who is a professor of Environmental Science, at the School of Geosciences in the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Louisiana, the United States of America.

The policy lecture focused on the components of Asta-Ja (i.e. Jal-water, Jamin-land, Jungle-forest, Jadibuti-medicinal and aromatic plants, Janasakti-human resource, Janawar-animals, Jarajuri-crop plants, Jalabayu-climate), the principle that emphasizes the interrelation between the components and the framework focusing system thinking which ties all the components for achieving economic growth, social wellbeing and drive towards prosperity in Nepal’s context.

In the Q&A session after the lecture, the researchers of the institute inquired about the scientific rigor, coherence with public policy, and practices of Asta-Ja in the local and global context, and also discussed the existing policies, policy implications, and policy gaps in the context of the natural resource-based development approach.

The program was moderated by Dr. Kalpana Khanal, senior research fellow at the Policy Research Institute. At the end of the program, Mr. Laxman Bhattarai, Office Manager of the institute, presented a certificate of appreciation to Professor Poudel.


Prof. Dr. Durga D. Poudel
Mr. Laxman Prasad Bhattarai
Dr. Mukti Ram Rijal
Dr. Khaga Nath Adhikari
Dr. Hari Sharma Neupane
Dr. Deepak Kumar Khadka
Dr. Kalpana Khanal
Dr. Giri Raj Sharma
Dr. Mandira Lamichhane Dhimal
Dr. Manita Kusi
Dr. Sabin Basi
Dr. Jham Kumar Bishwakarma
Mr. Ashok Pandey
Mr. Dipendra Prasad Pant
Mr. Gopal Acharya
Mr. Rajendra Senchurey
Mrs. Rija Manandhar
Mrs. Sanju Kumari Sarbariya
Mr. Asbin Pokhrel
Mr. Bimal Chandra Sharma
Mr. Pranjal Rijal
Ms. Ashmita Rijal
Ms. Urmila Koju
Ms. Laxmi Kandel
Ms. Deeja Bastakoti
Mr. Kushal Thapaliya
Ms. Jyoti Luitel
Mr. Kanchan Gautam