An interaction was held between a team of senior bureaucrats from Pakistan and the researchers of the Policy Research Institute.

May 20, 2024

May 20, 2024
Policy Research Institute
Narayanhiti, Kathmandu

A team of senior bureaucrats from various ministries of Pakistan (participants of National Management Course of the National School of Public Policy, Pakistan) which is visiting research institutions and public institutions in Nepal visited the Policy Research Institute today for a interaction to learn about policy research and policy process in Nepal. In the program, the Office Manager of the Policy Research Institute, Mr. Laxman Prasad Bhattarai welcomed the guests and Mr. Khaga Nath Adhikari, a Senior Research Fellow at Policy Research Institute made a presentation on Policy Research Institute and Policy Process in Nepal. The presentation was followed by a discussion session where the members of the Pakistani team put their questions and all seniors research fellows of the Policy Research Institute shared their views. The discussion covered themes like policymaking process, economic development, SDGs and the experience of the institute. The leader of the team, Capt. Muhammad Usman thanked the institute for the interaction and hospitality. Dr. Deepak Kumar Khadka, Spokesperson and Senior Research Fellow, gave the closing statement explaining the scope of the work of the institute and expressing joy over the meeting with senior bureaucrats of Pakistan and having the opportunity to exchange experiences. The program was conducted by Ms. Rija Manandhar, Analyst at Policy Research Institute.


Guests from Pakistan
Capt. Muhammad Usman (Directing Staff, National School of Public Policy)
Mr. Raja Tanveer Azmi (Joint-Secretary, Establishment Division, Pakistan)
Mr. Hammad Hassan Mirza (Joint-Secretary, Pakistan Railways)
Ms. Safina Siddiqui (Joint-Secretary, Government of Punjab)
Mr. Abdul Aziz Narejo (Joint-Secretary, Inland Revenue Service)
Mr. Rana Shahzad Iqbal (Joint-Secretary, Pak Audit and Account Service)
Mr. Muhammad Yousuf (Joint-Secretary, Police Service of Pakistan)
Mr. Umair Ali (DCM/CDA, Embassy of Pakistan, Kathmandu)
Mr. Muhammad Ali (Protocol Officer, Embassy of Pakistan, Kathmandu)

Policy Research Institute
Mr. Laxman Prasad Bhattarai (Office Manager)
Dr. Khaga Nath Adhikari (Senior Research Fellow)
Dr. Deepak Kumar Khadka (Senior Research Fellow)
Dr. Hari Sharma Neupane (Senior Research Fellow)
Dr. Mukti Ram Rijal (Senior Research Fellow)
Dr. Kalpana Khanal (Senior Research Fellow)
Dr. Giri Raj Sharma (Research Fellow)
Dr. Manita Kusi (Associate Research Fellow)
Mr. Ashok Pandey (Associate Research Fellow)
Ms. Rija Manandhar (Analyst)
Mr. Gopal Acharya (Analyst)
Mr. Bimal Chandra Sharma (Library Management Coordinator)
Ms. Asmita Rijal (Intern)
Ms. Deeja Bastakoti (Intern)
Ms. Jyoti Luintel (Intern)
Mr. Kushal Thapalia (Intern)
Mr. Kanchan Gautam (Intern)
Mr. Pranjal Rijal (Intern)
Ms. Rakshya Aryal (Consultant)
Ms. Soniya Basyal (Intern)
Ms. Urmila Koju (Intern)

Please click here for photographs.